The Most Wonderful Time of the Year: The Sephora VIB Holiday Shopping Event

As difficult as it is to resist Sephora during the holiday season with their limited edition sets, free gift wrapping, and sparkly holiday décor, Sephora sweetens the deal with its two biggest offers for Sephora VIB members. (Note: I believe there are similar offers for Beauty Insiders and VIB Rouge members but can only speak accurately for the VIB program)

The two offers, 20% off all in-store and online purchases and $20 off a minimum $50 purchase, occur in this order and during different time periods. The 20% off VIB exclusive holiday event is coming up fast (November 13-16), so I thought I would share what is currently in my Sephora shopping cart — the products that have made the final cut as I make final decisions as to what I will actually be purchasing. See below and let me know if you will be participating in the VIB shopping event and what you are planning on purchasing!

Definite purchases:

Too Faced Born This Way Foundation

Too Faced

$39.00 for 1 oz

I’m in need of a new foundation and a sales associate recommended I try this product. I brought a sample home to see how the product would wear with the rest of my makeup, how it performed on a full day’s wear, and how the color looked in natural lighting. A glowing review of the foundation by GlamLifeGuru aka Tati Westbrook sealed the deal for me. True to its claims, this foundation provides a very natural finish and does a great job at concealing the pores on my face.

Cinema Secrets Makeup Brush Cleaner Pro Starter Kit

Cinema Secrets

$24.00 for 8 oz bottle and cleansing tin ($30.00 value)

Cleaning makeup brushes is a pain. It is, of course, extremely important to clean your brushes regularly to minimize the buildup of bacteria on your brushes, products, and your face, and to make sure your brushes perform optimally, which product buildup can affect. This makeup brush cleanser (apparently) saves you from the long, laborious task of individually washing your brushes with soap and water, reshaping them, and leaving them to dry for hours before they can be used again. Simply dip your brushes into the cleaner, wipe the brushes on a towel, and voilà — clean and dry brushes. I look forward to trying this one out!

Definitely, maybe:

Peter Thomas Roth Acne-Clear Invisible Dots

Peter Thomas Roth

$12.00 for 24 dots

I’m a sucker for these types of instant gratification products where you can physically see the product doing its job, e.g. Biore pore strips, and these acne dots caught my eye after reading articles about them on a multitude of beauty sites. After weeks of having these in my cart, they appear to be out of stock on the Sephora site. Here’s hoping they restock or that I’m able to find them in stores. If not, I might just take it as a sign.

Christophe Robin Cleansing Purifying Scrub with Sea Salt

Christophe Robin

$51.00 for 8.33 oz

I spotted this product on the Sephora site along with other Allure Best of Beauty winners and was immediately intrigued as I had not heard about this type of product before: a shampoo with a granular texture which exfoliates and moisturizes “to cleanse and rebalance sensitive or oily scalps.” The price point for this product is steep, but from the reviews it seems that this tub will last you quite a while. It has also recently become out of stock on the Sephora site, which only makes me want it more.

Impulse spends:

Dior Crème de Rose Smoothing Plumping Lip Balm

Dior

$28.00 for 0.25 oz

A cult-favorite that I couldn’t stop hearing about either last year or the year before, this product has been on my list of things to purchase but never did. I remember there being rumors of the product being discontinued, which almost prompted me to finally purchase it but for some reason I hesitated. I love anything rose-scented and am still very much on the hunt for a product that will keep my lips moisturized, so what gives? Maybe this will be the year…

Tata Harper Regenerating Cleanser

Tata Harper

$38.00 for 1.7 oz

This brand has been generating a lot of buzz on social media and in the blogger and beauty editor communities, not only for how great these products are but for the brand philosophy and the natural, non-toxic formulations of these products. I’ve been interested in trying out a few products from the line, particularly this cleanser, but am a little hesitant because of the price of these products — especially for a cleanser, which only sits on the face for a few minutes at most.

For future:

NARS Steven Klein One Shocking Moment Cheek Palette

NARS

$69.00 ($165.00 value)

I will be purchasing this item with my $20 off a $50 purchase (fingers crossed that this palette will still be in stock). A few years back I purchased the NARS Guy Bourdin One Night Stand Cheek Palette, which was also a great value and is my most treasured and most used palette. It’s worth every penny, and got me hooked (like the rest of the world) on NARS’ Laguna bronzer. I’m currently digging at every last bit of what is left of my Laguna bronzer and figure, what better way to restock than with this beautiful palette which contains a full size (actually larger by .01 oz) Laguna bronzer which alone retails for $39.00.

Leave a Reply

