My Birchbox In-Store Experience

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This popular subscription site has now launched a brick and mortar entity. Find out about my experience and what I selected for my very own B.Y.O.B. (build your own box!)

Today I visited the new Birchbox store in SoHo. Though I am not a subscriber I’ve always been interested in the concept of Birchbox and so, when I heard that they had opened a store, I did not hesitate to visit as soon as I could.

The store itself has a clean, fresh look to it and is organized by makeup, skincare, fragrance, etc. There are sales associates that hover around each area who are extremely helpful and friendly.

At the back of the store is the b.y.o.b. (build your own box) section, which was one of the main reasons for my visit. I picked up a small card (image below) which listed the available samples to choose from for the month, and began to curate my very own Birchbox box.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A b.y.o.b costs $15 (plus tax). You choose a color for your box (pink, white, or cardboard brown), then one sample from each “section” for a total of five samples. The samples are on display and separated by section so that you can see the actual size of the product you are purchasing.

IMG_4595

I chose the following products for my Birchbox box:

Body & Nails

Whish Shave Crave Shaving Cream – Acai Grapefruit

IMG_4598

“Decadent shave cream that hydrates for silky-smooth skin”

Skincare

Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser Starter Kit

IMG_4597

“UK favorite that cleanses and exfoliates all skin types”

Fragrance

Folle de Joie eau de parfum

IMG_4601

“A best-selling mix of mandarin, rose, and sandalwood”

Hair

Beauty Protector Protect & Detangle

IMG_4599

“Nourishing elixir that gives hair silkiness and shine”

Makeup

Jouer Moisturizing Lip Gloss in Birchbox Pink

IMG_4600

“Sheer, hydrating gloss in a punchy pink shade”

I was pleased by the variety of products and definitely had some difficulty in only choosing one item from each category. Again, the ladies at the b.y.o.b station were extremely friendly and helped me out when I was deliberating between products.

Downstairs in the Birchbox store is a men’s section, bath and body products, and stations for getting hair, makeup, and nails done. The men’s section was a tad disappointing, but I guess that Birchbox is mainly targeted for women.

Upstairs there is also a large touch screen in which you can select your hair type, skin type, makeup style, etc. and you will be matched up with product recommendations that can be found in the store.

Overall, I had a very good experience at the Birchbox store. I think the b.y.o.b is a great concept for those of us that perhaps cannot afford a monthly subscription or like to have control in the products we receive in a Birchbox. I like that the products in the store are organized based on type rather than brand, as it allows people to discover new brands alongside their old favorites. The store has a modern, hip feel to it and made this makeup junkie feel right at home.

Have you visited the Birchbox store in SoHo? What were your thoughts?

Disclaimer: I purchased my b.y.o.b. with my own money and visited the Birchbox store for my own genuine interest in the brand. I was not paid by Birchbox to do a review on their new store. All opinions are my own.

 

2 thoughts on “My Birchbox In-Store Experience

  1. Pingback: Whish Shave Crave Shaving Cream | Everyday Pretty

Leave a Reply

