Current Skincare Routine

current skincare routine

 

Fresh out of moisturizer, in need of a refresh to your routine, or simply have a love for skincare? Learn about my favorites and new obsessions…

 

 

 

I don’t know about you, but I’m a big fan of skincare. Taking off my makeup at the end of the day and taking time to cleanse and take care of my skin always feels great. I admit that I am not perfect and sometimes have lazy days when I don’t go through every step, but I definitely feel at my best when I go through my entire routine.

A disclaimer before I get into what I have been using as part of my skincare routine: it is simply that–my skincare routine. Everyone’s skin is different and everyone has issues that they want to target specifically. I find it most difficult to recommend skincare products to people because it really does vary from person to person. It has taken me years to find what I like and what I don’t like, and I am still searching for different things to try when I run out of products.

Skin Type: Combination. Dry patches on cheekbones and oily T-zone.

Morning Skincare Routine

I think that cleansing your skin in the morning is just as important as cleansing at the end of the day. Oils from your sheets, pillows, hair, etc. can get into pores while you are sleeping, and it helps to have a clean canvas before applying makeup for the day. Even if I’m not wearing makeup that day, I always try to clean my face in the morning.

Cleanser: Fresh Soy Face Cleanser

$15 for 1.7 oz tube

A fairly new purchase for me. A little of this definitely goes a long way. I dispense some product onto my fingertips, gently massage it onto my face, rinse, and pat dry with a clean towel. Product has a gel-like texture and foams as you gently work it into your skin. Leaves my skin feeling clean without being over dried and with a light scent of roses. (first impressions post here)

Toner: Michael Todd Blue Green Algae Toner

$18.50 for 250 mL bottle

Very strong smell that I feel could make or break this product for some people. It is definitely stronger than some toners I have used in the past and have found it to sometimes create a burning sensation on days where my skin is particularly sensitive (breakouts, etc). Uses great ingredients, but for me I think I will be going back to LUSH’s Tea Tree Water once I run out of this product. I apply this product onto a cotton round and gently rub the pad over my face.

Moisturizer: Clinique Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief

$12 for 0.5 oz jar

This product has made a huge difference in the dry patches I’ve developed on my cheekbones. I apply a small amount of this onto the dry patches on my face using my fingertips. Cannot rave about this product enough. Luxurious gel texture that feels fantastic on the skin. (first impressions post here)

Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel

$26 for 4.2 oz pump

This product has worked great for my skin. Love the texture and leaves my skin feeling nicely hydrated. I apply this over the places where I did not previously apply the moisture surge, as well as in gentle downward motions onto my neck. (full review here)

Nighttime Skincare Routine

Makeup remover: Simple Cleansing Facial Wipes

$9.99 for a 2-pack of 25 wipes each

I use these to remove the majority of my makeup on my lazy days when I want the makeup off my face as quickly as possible without fuss. I gently wipe this across my face to remove my makeup. Does the job and is not drying.

Clinique Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm

$28.5o for a 3.8 oz jar

This product removes makeup like an absolute dream. Silky smooth texture and does not leave my skin with any kind of residue. I take a small amount onto my fingertips and massage this product over my face. I take some extra product and rub my eyelashes between my thumb and forefinger to remove mascara. I then rinse my face with water and pat my skin dry with a towel. (first impressions post here)

Cleanser: Same product as my morning routine, however instead of working the product into my skin with my fingertips I distribute the product evenly across my face and use my Clarisonic Mia ($99) to cleanse more deeply.

Toner: Again, same product as my morning routine. If I see any makeup residue on the cotton round after the initial swipe across my face I repeat the process with a fresh cotton round.

Spot Treatment: Grease Lightning by LUSH

$13.95 for 1.5 oz bottle

Treats spots naturally and does not over dry these areas. I pump a small amount onto my fingertip and spread a thin layer over any problem areas.

Eye Cream: Kiehl’s Creamy Eye Treatment with Avocado

$28.50 0.5 oz jar

Hydrates my eye area and does not get into my eyes. I am almost at the bottom of the pot, and though I did enjoy using this product I’m not sure how effective it was as an eye cream. I dip one of my ring fingers into the pot to pick up the product, rub the product in between my ring fingers to activate the cream, and gently pat the product over the under eye area.

Moisturizer: Same as morning routine

Lips: LUSH Mint Julips Lip Scrub

$9.95 for 0.9 oz jar

Does the job, smells great and tastes great. I will say that you can definitely make your own lip scrub at home for a fraction of the price, but I’m a fan of LUSH products and enjoy the convenient packaging. I rub a small amount of this into my lips, mash my lips together, and lick off the excess product. It is edible!

The Body Shop Aloe Vera Lip Care

$9.50 for 0.5 oz tube

Kind of has a weird smell to it, but applies thickly (in a good way) and makes my lips feel hydrated in the morning. Apply as you would a normal lip gloss.

Extras

Below are some extra steps I incorporate into my normal routine once a week or if I feel my skin needs some extra attention/pampering.

Biore Deep Cleansing Pore Strips

$8.49 for 14 strips (7 face strips+7 nose strips)

Sucks up blackheads and cleans your pores like no other. I have yet to find anything as effective as these strips. They can be very drying and sometimes painful to remove, but their effectiveness has had me repurchasing these again and again. I sometimes cut up the face strips to target specific areas on my face. Wet desired area, dry your hands, apply strip, remove strip after it hardens, apply toner onto the area.

The Body Shop Blue Corn 3 in 1 Deep Cleansing Mask

$17.00 for 4.2 oz jar

Leaves my skin feeling clean and refreshed. As with the Michael Todd toner it can create a burning sensation on my skin when my skin is sensitive, so that is something to watch out for. I like to try different face masks, and this is the one that happens to be in my collection at the moment. I also enjoy using several of the Fresh Face Masks from LUSH, however those are tricky as they have an expiration date.

WHEW. I hope you enjoyed this post. Let me know what your skincare favorites are, and any recommendations you have for me, particularly in the face mask department as I love trying out new masks.

Disclaimer: I purchased these products with my own money. I was not paid by any of these companies to do a review on their products. All opinions are my own.

3 thoughts on “Current Skincare Routine

Leave a Reply

