Not-so-essential Makeup: What I brought with me to Columbia

non essential

Fellow makeup lovers will understand that when it comes to makeup, everything is a necessity.

True to form, I started packing for my six-week adventure at Columbia University on move-in day. I’ll say that it partially wasn’t my fault and the result of a particularly bad fall I had taken only days before, resulting in the need to wear a questionably fashionable boot over my ankle. However without the injury, I probably would have started packing at around the same time. Despite the chaos that was packing, if I was to accidentally leave anything behind at home it would not be beauty/makeup related. Below is my list of what I deemed as “essentials” for my day to day makeup looks.

Primer:

Benefit Cosmetics the POREfessional*

Laura Mercier Foundation Primer – hydrating

Foundation/BB Cream:

Tarte Amazonian clay 12-hour full coverage foundation in Tan Honey (first impressions post here)

Shiseido Perfect Hydrating BB Cream in Dark (full review here)

RCMA Five Part “Series Favorites” Palette in “SHINTO”

Concealer/Corrector:

Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circles Concealer in Neutralizer

Bobbi Brown Corrector in Bisque

Blush/Bronzer/Highlighter:

NARS Multiple in Orgasm

NARS Matte Multiple in Vientiane

NARS Guy Bourdin Blush Palette (limited edition palette, no longer available) 😦

Eyebrow Products:

Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Powder Duo in Dark Brown

Benefit Cosmetics Gimme Brow in Medium/Deep*

Benefit Cosmetics High Brow*

Powder/Setting Spray:

Maybelline Dream Matte Powder (also sadly discontinued) in Medium Beige

Urban Decay De-Slick Oil-Control Makeup Setting Spray (first impressions post here)

MAC FIX +

Beauty So Clean Cosmetic Sanitizer Mist

Eyeshadow/Cream Shadow:

Urban Decay NAKED2 Palette

Urban Decay NAKED3 Palette

MAC Eye Shadow in Mythology (first impressions post here)

Benefit Cosmetics Creaseless Cream Shadow in no pressure!

Maybelline Eye Studio Color Tattoo in Bad to the Bronze

Eyeliner:

Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper (full review here)

Mascara:

Maybelline Volum’ Express The Rocket Mascara

Diorshow Iconic Overcurl Mascara

Lip Products:

Bite Beauty High Pigment Pencil in Quince

NARS Cinematic Lipstick in Full Frontal (discontinued, also part of the Guy Bourdin collection)

MAC Cosmetics Lipstick in Girl About Town

MAC Cosmetics Lipstick in Lady Danger (full review here)

MAC Cosmetics Lipstick in Riri Woo (from Rihanna Collection)

MAC Cosmetics Lipstick in Pleasure Bomb (from Rihanna Collection)

Topshop Lipstick in Beatnik

AVON Ultra Color Absolute Lipstick in Lovely Fuchsia*

Make Up For Ever Lip Line Perfector

Clearly, packing light is not one of my strong points. Please let me know if there are any products from this list that you would like me to do a full review on.

Disclaimer: I purchased most of these products with my own money. Some products were given to me from attending private events. These products are marked by an asterisk (*). I was not paid by any of these companies to do a review on their products. All opinions are my own.

What are your must-have travel makeup essentials?

Leave a Reply

