KAT VON D Tattoo Liner

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My search for the perfect liquid liner continues…

Description: A liquid eyeliner with an innovative brush tip for effortless, precise application.”Sephora Website

Cost: I purchased this item in Trooper (Ink Black) at Sephora for $18.

Reason for buying: The search for the perfect liquid eyeliner (or any kind of eyeliner, for that matter) never ends. I’ve been interested in finding something in a pen/felt tip form as I had not tried one that I’ve liked before. I’ve found in the past that many eyeliners in this form tend to dry out quickly or do not have a lot of pigmentation.

Period of using product: I have been using this eyeliner for 9 months. The pen has not run out of product or dried out and is still able to provide sharp, precise lines.

How I use it: I’m no expert at applying eyeliner, but I’ll try my best to describe what I do. Most days I will simply make a line as close to my eye as possible and stop at the end of my eye without creating a wing. If I am trying to create a winged eyeliner look I will draw two diagonal lines at the end of my eyes (the outer part of the “wing”), check to see if the lines are of the same length/angle and then apply eyeliner as usual with extra care connecting the line to that wing. (I am working on making short videos/clips to add to these reviews. Hopefully they will start appearing soon!)

First impressions: Yes. YES. YAAAAAS. So easy, so black, so precise.

Pros: great pigmentation, dark black color, flexible tip, long lasting, does not smudge/budge

Cons: Some of the liner does make its way to my bottom lid at the end of the day, however my eyelids are horrendously oily and I have yet to find an eyeliner/mascara that doesn’t smudge on me like that. I’ve found however that powdering around my liner has helped it to stay. I purchased 3 of these eyeliners in a limited edition set which is unfortunately no longer available (it was a great value), however I don’t find that these tips are as flexible as the original. Only comes in black.

Bottom Line: Definitely a “holy grail” eyeliner for me and something that I will always have on hand in my collection. This eyeliner is definitely cheaper than some other high-end eyeliners, and I think it does a fantastic job!

Disclaimer: I purchased this product with my own money. I was not paid by Kat Von D to do a review on her product. All opinions are my own.

Has anyone else tried this product? What did you think?

*Please forgive the late post! I try to have at least 1 review up every Friday/Saturday. I hope everyone had a great weekend!

One thought on “KAT VON D Tattoo Liner

  1. Pingback: Not-so-essential Makeup: What I brought with me to Columbia | white lies and beautiful eyes

Leave a Reply

