CLINIQUE Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel

Cinique moisturizer

After a recommendation, I decide to add moisturizer to my routine. Keep reading to see how it went!

Description: Dermatologist-developed formula combines oil-free hydration with skin-strengthening ingredients. Your daily moisturizer helps skin look younger, longer.” For day and night coverage, for combination oily to oily skin.– CLINIQUE Website

Cost: I purchased a 4.2 oz pump at Macy’s for $26.00 (not including tax). This product also comes in a 1.7 oz tube for $14.50. The larger size is less expensive, ounce for ounce, and I find the pump to be convenient for using the product. There is also a jumbo 6.8 oz pump for $38.00, which is even cheaper if you are comparing ounce for ounce.

Reason for buying: I had actually first purchased the 1.7 oz tube at Sephora after getting a facial at Cactus Salon, where the beautician explained to me how important moisturizer is. I had previously not really seen the point of moisturizer since my skin is naturally oily. I did some research and heard a lot of good things about this moisturizer. I ended up purchasing the large pump at Macy’s because they were offering their seasonal free gift with purchase, and the pump size was just enough to get me the free gift. This promotion is actually going on now, if anyone is interested.

Period of using product: I have been using this product for 6 months. There is about half of the product left in the pump, though I also kept the small tube and have it it my boyfriend’s place so that I don’t have to worry about bringing my moisturizer back and forth.

How I use it: In the morning after cleansing with Cetaphil gentle skin cleanser using my Clarisonic MIA, I tone my skin with either Michael Todd’s blue-green algae toner or LUSH’s tea tree water. I pump out some of this moisturizer onto my fingertips and gently pat it into my skin. I also make sure to gently moisturize my neck area using downward motions. At night I will have the same routine for the most part, but will usually apply Kiehl’s creamy eye treatment with avocado around my eye area using my ring finger before I apply moisturizer. Occassionally I will also do a nose strip, face strip, or a face mask right after cleansing my skin.

First impressions: Feels great! Has a light smell to it but it is not unpleasant. Leaves my skin feeling refreshed, and there are no issues with applying makeup after moisturizing.

Pros: Convenient pump, smells great, light texture, non-greasy, have definitely experienced less breakouts and clearer skin

Cons: On its own this moisturizer leaves a bit of a dewy finish that some people might not like.

Bottom Line: This has been a staple in my skincare regimen, and I enjoy using this product. I think that it is decently priced and is a great go-to moisturizer. It has definitely converted me to the usefulness and effectiveness of moisturizers.

Disclaimer: I purchased this product with my own money. I was not paid by CLINIQUE to do a review on their product. All opinions are my own.

Has anyone else tried this product? What did you think?

3 thoughts on “CLINIQUE Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel

  1. Pingback: Current Skincare Routine | white lies and beautiful eyes

Leave a Reply

