SHISEIDO Perfect Hydrating BB Cream

Shiseido BB cream

My search for the perfect BB cream has ended. Really.

Description: “A multifunctional BB cream with a makeup effect and skincare benefits, for bright, vibrant looking skin that is moisturized and protected against UV damage” – SHISEIDO Website

Cost: I purchased this at Macy’s for $33.00 (not including tax). This product comes in a 1.1 oz tube (30mL), and I believe this is the only size that it comes in.

Reason for buying: I had been using the Urban Decay Naked Skin Beauty Balm and noticed it wasn’t exactly matching my skin right or giving me the right amount of coverage that I wanted. I wanted a BB cream that I could wear alone, and after looking through reviews on Sephora, I saw that this BB cream was one of the most highly rated.

Period of using product: I don’t have an exact time frame, but I would say that I have been using the same tube for at least a year, and there is still some product left!

How I use it: After moisturizing my face (I am currently using the CLINIQUE Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel) I squeeze out the product in a line across my Real Techniques expert face brush and gently buff the product over my face as needed. I go over problem areas and build up the BB cream as needed, but one layer is usually enough for me. I usually finish off with the Maybelline Dream Matte Powder as I have oily spots around my T-zone and nose area.

First impressions: I’ll admit that when I first started using this product I wasn’t completely sold. Maybe it was because of the amazing reviews I had read on the Sephora website. I don’t really remember what I didn’t like about the product at first, because now I can’t imagine using anything else. I think that at first I had issues getting an even color distribution across my face, as this BB cream had a real tint to it, in comparison to the UD Naked Skin. I purchased this product in the color dark, so the pigmentation was definitely more obvious.

Pros: Easy application onto makeup brush, even coverage, lightweight, matches my skin tone, SPF 35

Cons: Tinted (might not match your particular skin tone), very light coverage, does not do much in terms of evening out skin texture

Bottom Line: For me, this is a “holy grail” product. In fact, though I wanted to try a new BB cream as I am coming to the end of this one, I actually think I will be sticking to this one! I have issues with buying foundations as my skin tone changes so often throughout the year (I tan very, VERY easily), so a color-matching BB cream is ideal for me. I am able to wear this BB cream all year round and it matches whatever my current skin tone is fairly well. No, this BB cream will not provide coverage like a foundation would, but this is perfect for me as an everyday product. It looks very natural on my skin and is very lightweight. It does not break me out and blends in easily and quickly. I would recommend this product to people with fairly clear skin that simply need something to help even out their skin tone and provide moisture and SPF.

Disclaimer: I purchased this product with my own money. I was not paid by SHISEIDO to do a review on their product. All opinions are my own.

Has anyone else tried this product? What did you think? Any recommendations for a new BB cream?

One thought on “SHISEIDO Perfect Hydrating BB Cream

  1. Pingback: Not-so-essential Makeup: What I brought with me to Columbia | white lies and beautiful eyes

Leave a Reply

