MAKE UP FOR EVER SENS’EYES Waterproof Sensitive Eye Cleanser

Description: “SENS’EYES is an emulsion gel which effectively and gently removes eye and lip make up. It doesn’t leave the eyelids feeling greasy.” –MUFE Website

Cost: I purchased this at Sephora. The 3.38 oz bottle cost $24.00 plus tax. There is a smaller size available: 1.01 oz for $10.00. The larger bottle is cheaper if you are comparing ounce for ounce.

Reason for buying: I recently went through a small bottle of the Sephora Collection Instant Eye Makeup Remover and was not terribly impressed. A sales associate at Sephora suggested this product to me. I was hesitant because of the price but decided to give it a try. I was not aware that a smaller size was available and perhaps would have purchased the smaller size if I had known at the time.

Period of using product: I purchased this product at the end of January 2013 and have been using it fairly consistently (on average twice a week). There is still a substantial amount of product left (about half).

How I use it: I pump out a small, pea sized (a tad smaller) amount onto a Q-tip. I have also tried this with cotton rounds but find that Q-tips are the most precise in getting the product where I want it to go. I lightly apply the gel onto the desired area on both eyes and let the product sit for a few seconds. I then come back for a second time and gently wipe the product away with the Q-tip. I repeat this process as necessary to ensure all makeup has been removed. For removing mascara, I apply a small amount in a line on a cotton round. I fold the cotton round in half over my lashes and gently press. After a few seconds, I pull the cotton round away and repeat this process as necessary.

First impressions: I definitely found this makeup remover more effective than the Sephora makeup remover. The gel felt very soothing and almost cooling on my eyelid and I felt that I didn’t need to try so hard to remove my eye makeup.

Pros: Effective, cooling, a small amount of product gets the job done, quick, does not irritate eyes, works well when removing small amounts of eye makeup

Cons: Somewhat difficult to work with, removing large amounts of makeup can be tedious, specifically for eye makeup

Bottom Line: Great product, but I prefer to use my cleansing water makeup remover. I find it difficult to remove anything more than simple eyeliner with this makeup remover. For larger amounts of makeup using a cotton round is ideal, however with this product it is difficult to control where the product goes and I often accidentally end up with product in my eyes. Ouch. Perhaps opt for the smaller option to use on days where you only wear minimal eye makeup, or when traveling.

Disclaimer: I purchased this product with my own money. I was not paid by MUFE to do a review on their product. All opinions are my own.

Has anyone else tried this product? What did you think?

Leave a Reply

